A dirty weekend in Surrey
Oh yes, there is mud everywhere including the inside of my car now (well, actually it is my wife's...!). The recent weather has left Surrey's trails in a state but that didn't deter 24 RCC riders who turned up at Rykas for an 18 mile off-road loop.
conor_maher's picture
conor_maher
Saturday, April 28, 2012 - 17:45
986

Oh yes, there is mud everywhere including the inside of my car now (well, actually it is my wife's...!). The recent weather has left Surrey's trails in a state but that didn't deter 24 RCC riders who turned up at Rykas for an 18 mile off-road loop.

No point hanging about I thought - we got straight into Juniper Hill to warm up those legs before a very careful and, in places, nervy descent down Minty's where the damp conditions, roots and chalky surfaces proved testing. More of the same as we climbed up High Ashurst before we encountered the first mud bath of the day in Headley Common. Yet more mud and deep tyre tracks as we made our way along the edge of Sandhill Wood towards Langley with plenty of climbs and descents for the route to Bocketts. The Mars bar cake was as good as ever and amongst the tea and banter we barely noticed the ever friendly staff busying themselves with sweeping brushes. Oops!

The rain arrived so best get on I thought. With only six miles left involving a quick climb over Ranmore we would be home in no time, wouldn't we? Nope, even muddier trails now and the arrival of the puncture monster who took out a few hapless souls. The trails were busy too with the Wiggle ride event and we came up against the riders in a few places, forcing a last minute detour down Denbies for the home run. Have I mentioned the mud yet?

We seemed to lose a few riders along the way too, very careless I know. Thanks to Graham and his dodgy ribs for back-marking and to everyone for their good humour.

See you next time.
Conor

Recent Reports

Sat 6 Feb
MTB Experienced 06/02- Reigate Hill
Sun 31 Jan
MTB-Enduro1 Christmas Blow Out, Bagshot
Sun 24 Jan
Sunday Steady 24-01-2016
Sat 23 Jan
MTB-Experienced Coldharbour 23/01
Sat 16 Jan
MTB-Intermediate Ranmore 16/16
Sat 9 Jan
MTB-Intermediate Epsom Downs 09/16
Sun 20 Dec
The 2015 MINCE PIE RUN
Sun 20 Dec
MTB Mince Pie Ride
Sat 28 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Rykas 28/11
Sat 21 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Ranmore Common 21/10
Sat 14 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Epsom Downs 14/11
Sat 7 Nov
Road Rides 07-11-15
Sat 31 Oct
Road Rides 31-10-15
Sat 31 Oct
Pedal In Preston Park 2015
Sat 24 Oct
Road Rides 24-10-15
Tue 20 Oct
Newcomers ride 10/10/15
Tue 20 Oct
Dungeness report 04/10/15
Sat 3 Oct
MTB-Intermediate Leigh 03/10
Sat 10 Oct
Mtb Experienced- Reigate Hill