A dirty weekend in Surrey
Oh yes, there is mud everywhere including the inside of my car now (well, actually it is my wife's...!). The recent weather has left Surrey's trails in a state but that didn't deter 24 RCC riders who turned up at Rykas for an 18 mile off-road loop.
conor_maher's picture
conor_maher
Saturday, April 28, 2012 - 17:45
797

Oh yes, there is mud everywhere including the inside of my car now (well, actually it is my wife's...!). The recent weather has left Surrey's trails in a state but that didn't deter 24 RCC riders who turned up at Rykas for an 18 mile off-road loop.

No point hanging about I thought - we got straight into Juniper Hill to warm up those legs before a very careful and, in places, nervy descent down Minty's where the damp conditions, roots and chalky surfaces proved testing. More of the same as we climbed up High Ashurst before we encountered the first mud bath of the day in Headley Common. Yet more mud and deep tyre tracks as we made our way along the edge of Sandhill Wood towards Langley with plenty of climbs and descents for the route to Bocketts. The Mars bar cake was as good as ever and amongst the tea and banter we barely noticed the ever friendly staff busying themselves with sweeping brushes. Oops!

The rain arrived so best get on I thought. With only six miles left involving a quick climb over Ranmore we would be home in no time, wouldn't we? Nope, even muddier trails now and the arrival of the puncture monster who took out a few hapless souls. The trails were busy too with the Wiggle ride event and we came up against the riders in a few places, forcing a last minute detour down Denbies for the home run. Have I mentioned the mud yet?

We seemed to lose a few riders along the way too, very careless I know. Thanks to Graham and his dodgy ribs for back-marking and to everyone for their good humour.

See you next time.
Conor

Recent Reports

Sat 13 Dec
MTB Experienced - Rykas
Sat 6 Dec
Road Rides 06-12-14 - CANCELLEF
Sat 29 Nov
Road Rides 29-11-14
Sat 22 Nov
MTB Experienced - Gomshall 22/11
Sat 22 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Milton Heath 22/11
Sat 22 Nov
Road Rides 22-11-14
Sun 16 Nov
Sunday Steady 16-11-2014
Sat 8 Nov
MTB-Downhill Day at Rogate/Stoughton
Sat 1 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Warlingham 01/11
Sun 19 Oct
Redmon GP des Gentlemen 19-10-14
Sat 25 Oct
MTB-Intermediate Milton Heath 25/10
Sat 18 Oct
MTB-intermediate Reigate Hill 18/10
Wed 1 Oct
Marseille to Reigate
Sat 11 Oct
Road Rides 11-10-14
Sun 5 Oct
Cycling Nuts
Sun 21 Sep
Crawley Late Summer Triathlon
Sun 5 Oct
Denbies Duels
Sun 28 Sep
Hever Castle Half Iron distance Triathlon
Sun 28 Sep
Hever Castle Sprint Triathlon Sept 2014