A dirty weekend in Surrey
Oh yes, there is mud everywhere including the inside of my car now (well, actually it is my wife's...!). The recent weather has left Surrey's trails in a state but that didn't deter 24 RCC riders who turned up at Rykas for an 18 mile off-road loop.
conor_maher's picture
conor_maher
Saturday, April 28, 2012 - 18:45
740

Oh yes, there is mud everywhere including the inside of my car now (well, actually it is my wife's...!). The recent weather has left Surrey's trails in a state but that didn't deter 24 RCC riders who turned up at Rykas for an 18 mile off-road loop.

No point hanging about I thought - we got straight into Juniper Hill to warm up those legs before a very careful and, in places, nervy descent down Minty's where the damp conditions, roots and chalky surfaces proved testing. More of the same as we climbed up High Ashurst before we encountered the first mud bath of the day in Headley Common. Yet more mud and deep tyre tracks as we made our way along the edge of Sandhill Wood towards Langley with plenty of climbs and descents for the route to Bocketts. The Mars bar cake was as good as ever and amongst the tea and banter we barely noticed the ever friendly staff busying themselves with sweeping brushes. Oops!

The rain arrived so best get on I thought. With only six miles left involving a quick climb over Ranmore we would be home in no time, wouldn't we? Nope, even muddier trails now and the arrival of the puncture monster who took out a few hapless souls. The trails were busy too with the Wiggle ride event and we came up against the riders in a few places, forcing a last minute detour down Denbies for the home run. Have I mentioned the mud yet?

We seemed to lose a few riders along the way too, very careless I know. Thanks to Graham and his dodgy ribs for back-marking and to everyone for their good humour.

See you next time.
Conor

Recent Reports

Wed 20 Aug
RCC Club TT - Week 16
Sat 23 Aug
Grand Raid 2014
Sat 23 Aug
MTB Experienced-Woldingham
Sat 23 Aug
Road Rides 23-08-14
Sat 16 Aug
Road Rides 16-08-14
Wed 13 Aug
RCC Club TT - Week 15
Sun 10 Aug
London Ride 100, 2014
Wed 6 Aug
RCC Club TT - Week 14 (back to Horne, earlier start)
Sat 2 Aug
MTB Experienced-Warlingham
Sun 27 Jul
Redhill Sprint Triathlon
Wed 30 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 13
Sun 27 Jul
SCCU 100 - Redhill Club Championship 100
Wed 23 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 12
Fri 11 Jul - Wed 16 Jul
Dolomites - Is there anywhere better?
Sat 19 Jul
Road Rides 19-07-14
Wed 16 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 11
Sat 12 Jul
MTB Experienced - Reigate Hill
Sat 12 Jul
Stowe Triathlon
Sun 13 Jul
Reigate Rouleur Sportive