Extra miles all round
Two off road rides out on Saturday- Dave and Fran report: Setting off from Gomshall at 9.30am with 26 riders following is quite a challenge....
MatSwan's picture
MatSwan
Monday, March 5, 2012 - 21:08
520

Two off road rides out on Saturday- Dave and Fran report:

Setting off from Gomshall at 9.30am with 26 riders following is quite a challenge....

Riding at a pace which suits everyone is hard enough, and making sure no one gets lost is a difficult. Still, with several riders willing to mark corners, and Fran back marking we all made it without incident to Watts Gallery. The service was efficient considering we turned up unannounced.

After refreshments we split into two groups, Fran’s ride proving to be the popular choice, with the majority opting for a 27 mile route.

Conor, Simon, Cheryl and Stuart had a day pass and followed me towards Puttenham Common. Sunshine with damp trails were the ideal combination. Byways to the south of Godalming took us to a second stop at Winkworth Arboretum. This is a beautiful place, where one could spend a day wandering amongst rare flowering trees.

Through Shamley Green to Blackheath we paused to watch about 10 crossbills, a rare parrot size bird, feeding on pine cones. Up to Shere and crossing the river at Gomshall we paused for a photo to remind us of a great day.
Back before 3pm. 35 miles. Dave R.

Short(er) ride

This was a real family affair with 4 families amongst the 21 who returned to Gomshall on the short ride. The route was fairly complicated and unknown, especially through Godalming, so keeping everyone together was a challenge. Thanks to all who marked the return leg – you showed great patience.

After a damp start at the Colekitchen climb, the weather turned warm and balmy and after our tea stop was positively lovely by the time we got to the Bramley golf course. The Tangley Hill climb proved to be the third big climb of the day and put more colour in our cheeks.

We got back to Gomshall station by 1.30 with no punctures to report, but no photos! Fran

Recent Reports

Sat 6 Feb
MTB-Intermediate Bletchingly 06/02
Sat 6 Feb
MTB Experienced 06/02- Reigate Hill
Sun 31 Jan
MTB-Enduro1 Christmas Blow Out, Bagshot
Sun 24 Jan
Sunday Steady 24-01-2016
Sat 23 Jan
MTB-Experienced Coldharbour 23/01
Sat 16 Jan
MTB-Intermediate Ranmore 16/16
Sat 9 Jan
MTB-Intermediate Epsom Downs 09/16
Sun 20 Dec
The 2015 MINCE PIE RUN
Sun 20 Dec
MTB Mince Pie Ride
Sat 28 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Rykas 28/11
Sat 21 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Ranmore Common 21/10
Sat 14 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Epsom Downs 14/11
Sat 7 Nov
Road Rides 07-11-15
Sat 31 Oct
Road Rides 31-10-15
Sat 31 Oct
Pedal In Preston Park 2015
Sat 24 Oct
Road Rides 24-10-15
Tue 20 Oct
Newcomers ride 10/10/15
Tue 20 Oct
Dungeness report 04/10/15
Sat 3 Oct
MTB-Intermediate Leigh 03/10