Maurice gets third in South Nutfield handicap road race!
Having raced in the Goodwood Gallops handicap on Tuesday evening, Maurice Brennan was out in force again in this evening's Surrey League Handicap race on the South Nutfield circuit.
rupert's picture
rupert
Thursday, May 5, 2011 - 22:45
3
1,639

Having raced in the Goodwood Gallops handicap on Tuesday evening, Maurice Brennan was out in force again in this evening's Surrey League Handicap race on the South Nutfield circuit.

The RCC contingent also included Rob Pace, Sean McAuiffe and Olly Gin who were split across two groups out of the original five groups that formed the race.

After a couple of laps the earlier groups had merged into one larger group but Maurice was able to get into a break instigated by Addiscombe CC.  A further attack that Maurice stayed with saw him in a lead group of just four riders who began to work really well together.  So much so that they rapidly gained a gap of a minute and a half on the bunch.

Over the final couple of laps the lead group continued to increase their gap still further on the bunch who had been caught by all the later groups.

In a final sprint to the finish on the motorway bridge in Green Lane, Maurice came third behind an Addiscombe rider who came first and a Kingston Wheelers rider who just pipped Maurice to second place.

Sean, Rob and Olly came in with the chase bunch outside of the top ten, but all had a pretty good ride.

Well done Maurice; that was a well deserved position!

 

Photos of the race can be found at http://rupertracer.smugmug.com/Road-Racing/Surrey-League-Handicaps/2011-...

Recent Reports

Sun 19 Jun
Sunday Steady 19-06-2016
Thu 9 Jun - Sun 12 Jun
MTB Lake District Weekend
Wed 15 Jun
RCC 2016 TT series #7
Wed 8 Jun
RCC 2016 Time Trial series #6
Wed 1 Jun
RCC 2016 TT series #5
Fri 20 May - Mon 23 May
Le Mans 72
Wed 25 May
RCC 2016 TT series #4
Mon 30 May
Bank Holiday Steady 30-05-2016
Sat 28 May
MTB-Experienced Holmbury St Mary 2805
Wed 18 May
RCC 2016 TT series #3
Sat 14 May
MTB- Experienced Gomshall 1405
Sun 17 Apr
BUCS 2016 Antur Stiniog
Wed 11 May
RCC 2016 TT series #2
Sat 30 Apr
Road Rides 30-04-16
Wed 20 Apr - Wed 27 Apr
Mallorca 2016
Sat 2 Apr
Road Rides 02-04-16
Sat 26 Mar
MTB-Experienced Holmbury St Mary 2603
Sat 19 Mar
MTB-Intermediate Reigate Hill 19/03