Maurice gets third in South Nutfield handicap road race!
Having raced in the Goodwood Gallops handicap on Tuesday evening, Maurice Brennan was out in force again in this evening's Surrey League Handicap race on the South Nutfield circuit.
rupert's picture
rupert
Thursday, May 5, 2011 - 22:45
3
1,444

Having raced in the Goodwood Gallops handicap on Tuesday evening, Maurice Brennan was out in force again in this evening's Surrey League Handicap race on the South Nutfield circuit.

The RCC contingent also included Rob Pace, Sean McAuiffe and Olly Gin who were split across two groups out of the original five groups that formed the race.

After a couple of laps the earlier groups had merged into one larger group but Maurice was able to get into a break instigated by Addiscombe CC.  A further attack that Maurice stayed with saw him in a lead group of just four riders who began to work really well together.  So much so that they rapidly gained a gap of a minute and a half on the bunch.

Over the final couple of laps the lead group continued to increase their gap still further on the bunch who had been caught by all the later groups.

In a final sprint to the finish on the motorway bridge in Green Lane, Maurice came third behind an Addiscombe rider who came first and a Kingston Wheelers rider who just pipped Maurice to second place.

Sean, Rob and Olly came in with the chase bunch outside of the top ten, but all had a pretty good ride.

Well done Maurice; that was a well deserved position!

 

Photos of the race can be found at http://rupertracer.smugmug.com/Road-Racing/Surrey-League-Handicaps/2011-...

Recent Reports

Wed 26 Aug
Club TT - Week 15 - The Finale!
Sat 22 Aug
Road Rides 22-08-15
Sat 22 Aug
Road Rides 22-08-15
Mon 10 Aug - Sun 16 Aug
Raid Alpine 2015
Sat 15 Aug
Brighton Big Dog 2015
Wed 29 Jul
Interclub TT - Redhill vs Norwood Paragon
Sat 1 Aug
MTB-Intermediate Reigate Hill 01/08
Wed 22 Jul
Club TT - Week 11
Sat 18 Jul
Shaftesbury CC Time Trial
Sat 18 Jul
Road Rides 18-07-15
Sun 12 Jul
Reigate Rouleur Sportive 2015
Sat 11 Jul
Salzkammergut Trophy
Sat 11 Jul
Road Rides 11-07-15
Sun 5 Jul
Sunday Steady 05-07-2015
Sat 5 Jul
Redhill CC Sporting 14 TT - GS/189
Sat 4 Jul
MTB-Experienced Reigate Hill 04/07
Sat 4 Jul
Road Rides 04-07-15
Fri 26 Jun - Sun 28 Jun
RCC Paris Raid
Sat 27 Jun
Road Rides 27-06-15
Sat 15 Feb
MTB Intermediate-Bletchingley