Maurice gets third in South Nutfield handicap road race!
Having raced in the Goodwood Gallops handicap on Tuesday evening, Maurice Brennan was out in force again in this evening's Surrey League Handicap race on the South Nutfield circuit.
rupert's picture
rupert
Thursday, May 5, 2011 - 21:45
3
1,290

Having raced in the Goodwood Gallops handicap on Tuesday evening, Maurice Brennan was out in force again in this evening's Surrey League Handicap race on the South Nutfield circuit.

The RCC contingent also included Rob Pace, Sean McAuiffe and Olly Gin who were split across two groups out of the original five groups that formed the race.

After a couple of laps the earlier groups had merged into one larger group but Maurice was able to get into a break instigated by Addiscombe CC.  A further attack that Maurice stayed with saw him in a lead group of just four riders who began to work really well together.  So much so that they rapidly gained a gap of a minute and a half on the bunch.

Over the final couple of laps the lead group continued to increase their gap still further on the bunch who had been caught by all the later groups.

In a final sprint to the finish on the motorway bridge in Green Lane, Maurice came third behind an Addiscombe rider who came first and a Kingston Wheelers rider who just pipped Maurice to second place.

Sean, Rob and Olly came in with the chase bunch outside of the top ten, but all had a pretty good ride.

Well done Maurice; that was a well deserved position!

 

Photos of the race can be found at http://rupertracer.smugmug.com/Road-Racing/Surrey-League-Handicaps/2011-...

Recent Reports

Sat 13 Dec
MTB Experienced - Rykas
Sat 6 Dec
Road Rides 06-12-14 - CANCELLEF
Sat 29 Nov
Road Rides 29-11-14
Sat 22 Nov
MTB Experienced - Gomshall 22/11
Sat 22 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Milton Heath 22/11
Sat 22 Nov
Road Rides 22-11-14
Sun 16 Nov
Sunday Steady 16-11-2014
Sat 8 Nov
MTB-Downhill Day at Rogate/Stoughton
Sat 1 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Warlingham 01/11
Sun 19 Oct
Redmon GP des Gentlemen 19-10-14
Sat 25 Oct
MTB-Intermediate Milton Heath 25/10
Sat 18 Oct
MTB-intermediate Reigate Hill 18/10
Wed 1 Oct
Marseille to Reigate
Sat 11 Oct
Road Rides 11-10-14
Sun 5 Oct
Cycling Nuts
Sun 21 Sep
Crawley Late Summer Triathlon
Sun 5 Oct
Denbies Duels
Sun 28 Sep
Hever Castle Half Iron distance Triathlon
Sun 28 Sep
Hever Castle Sprint Triathlon Sept 2014