Wet but still good
Ten hardy souls (plus me) set off in light rain for a G4 60 plus mile route I’d planned out the previous week. In fact I’d ridden it the Sunday before to test it out and it’s a beaut of a route in the sunshine. In the rain it’s just wet but still top pedalling country and even though the drizzle...
damon's picture
damon
Sunday, April 29, 2012 - 19:37
426

Ten hardy souls (plus me) set off in light rain for a G4 60 plus mile route I’d planned out the previous week. In fact I’d ridden it the Sunday before to test it out and it’s a beaut of a route in the sunshine. In the rain it’s just wet but still top pedalling country and even though the drizzle was disappointing, spirits stayed high and we zipped around some lovely lanes past Outwood to Turners Hill then on to Ardingly reservoir heading west to Barns Green. On my sunny recce to the café at Sumners Pond I’d enjoyed a coffee and cake on the new deck area overlooking the lake (too soggy for a photo while riding hence the stock cafe pic) and even though the rain knocked a repeat on the head, the café there is great; warm with big slices of cake, good coffee and on this wet visit excellent bacon and egg rolls. Feeling better and over half way we ploughed on home via Warnham and Were Street (where the only puncture of the day caught us). By the time we hit Newdigate most of our group started the starburst home to hit well deserved hot showers. I had 64 miles at 16.5mph and just over 3,700 ft on the GPS at the end, not sure about the ft climbed figure but a good morning's ride nonetheless. Thanks to all for enjoying the rain with me, thanks especially to Chris for superb back-marking.

Recent Reports

Sat 1 Mar
Road Rides 01-03-14
Sat 21 Feb
Road Rides 21-02-15
Sun 15 Feb
Sunday Steady 15-02-2015
Sun 15 Feb
RCC 70th Anniversary Sporting 18 Time Trial
Sat 7 Feb
MTB-Experienced Reigate Hill 07/02
Sat 7 Feb
RCC 2014 Awards Evening
Sat 24 Jan
Road Rides 24-01-15
Sat 24 Jan
MTB Experienced - Rykas
Thu 15 Jan
2015 Turbo Session #2
Sat 10 Jan
The Dene
Sat 3 Jan
MTB-Experienced Newlands Corner 03/01
Sun 28 Dec
Sunday Steady 28-12-2014
Sat 13 Dec
MTB Experienced - Rykas
Sat 6 Dec
Road Rides 06-12-14 - CANCELLEF
Sat 29 Nov
Road Rides 29-11-14
Sat 22 Nov
MTB Experienced - Gomshall 22/11
Sat 22 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Milton Heath 22/11
Sat 22 Nov
Road Rides 22-11-14