Redhill well represented at Bletchingly
Six Redhill racers entered this race, with Maurice finishing 8th and Dan 15th. The race covered the extremely challenging route from Bletchingly to Nutfield on the A25, taking the first left and heading towards Smallfield, turning left at Rookery Hill and back to Bletchingly up Outwood Lane.
pjemmison's picture
Friday, April 6, 2012 - 21:00

Despite the high temperatures over the preceding week, the cooler conditions were ideal for this race.

Eighty riders had signed up but not all started with some citing the recovery from colds. The first lap was a mellow affair so that the field, could learn the course. The roads are narrow and with riders taking up the full road width, there was short moments of chaos when a vehicle approached from the other direction. An occurrence of this happened on the first lap heading into Bletchingly, which resulted in some riders, including Phil, having to put their foot down. After then wrestling with a start up hill, plus several attempts to re-cleat, Phil lost ground and had to put a big dig in up through Bletchingly. Having caught the pack, the pace was upped and he then found himself off the back by Rookery Hill. He almost caught the group again but saw them go off into the distance at Outwood. After this, Phil continued circuits, turning the race into a training ride, and did five laps in total until he was told my race was over on completion of my fifth lap. He found it interesting watching some of the other racers calling it a day when they had had enough.

Other Redhill riders didn't have the ideal day, with Dom suffering a mechanical on completion of the first lap. Olly was dropped on the fourth lap and finished with others. Due to the headwind on the south stretch, breaks weren't tending to be established. There was a couple of crashes but none of the same magnitude as the August race last year.

This left Maurice, Dan and Ryan contesting the win. With the racers a little spaced out on the final lap, there was a big team effort to catch the race leaders, and this was done by the start of the final climb. The race was won by Harold Evans of VO2 Development Team. Maurice finished 8th. Dan was our second racer over finishing 15th, with Ryan shortly after.

Well done to Addiscombe CC who put on a great race with lots of Marshalls and a well stocked cake selection at HQ.

Recent Reports

Sat 21 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Ranmore Common 21/10
Sat 14 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Epsom Downs 14/11
Sat 7 Nov
Road Rides 07-11-15
Sat 31 Oct
Road Rides 31-10-15
Sat 31 Oct
Pedal In Preston Park 2015
Sat 24 Oct
Road Rides 24-10-15
Tue 20 Oct
Newcomers ride 10/10/15
Tue 20 Oct
Dungeness report 04/10/15
Sat 3 Oct
MTB-Intermediate Leigh 03/10
Sat 10 Oct
Mtb Experienced- Reigate Hill
Fri 25 Sep - Sun 27 Sep
MTB Dartmoor weekend 25/09
Fri 25 Sep - Sun 27 Sep
MTB Dartmoor weekend 25/09
Sat 26 Sep
Raid Alpine 2015 - The Movie
Sat 26 Sep
Road Rides 26-09-15
Fri 11 Sep - Sun 13 Sep
G2 Weekend away
Fri 11 Sep - Sun 13 Sep
Calais 2015
Sat 12 Sep
MTB-Intermediate Reigate Hill 12/09
Sat 12 Sep
Road Rides 12-09-15
Sat 5 Sep
70th Anniversary Rides & Hog Roast after