Redhill well represented at Bletchingly
Six Redhill racers entered this race, with Maurice finishing 8th and Dan 15th. The race covered the extremely challenging route from Bletchingly to Nutfield on the A25, taking the first left and heading towards Smallfield, turning left at Rookery Hill and back to Bletchingly up Outwood Lane.
pjemmison's picture
pjemmison
Friday, April 6, 2012 - 22:00
1,006

Despite the high temperatures over the preceding week, the cooler conditions were ideal for this race.

Eighty riders had signed up but not all started with some citing the recovery from colds. The first lap was a mellow affair so that the field, could learn the course. The roads are narrow and with riders taking up the full road width, there was short moments of chaos when a vehicle approached from the other direction. An occurrence of this happened on the first lap heading into Bletchingly, which resulted in some riders, including Phil, having to put their foot down. After then wrestling with a start up hill, plus several attempts to re-cleat, Phil lost ground and had to put a big dig in up through Bletchingly. Having caught the pack, the pace was upped and he then found himself off the back by Rookery Hill. He almost caught the group again but saw them go off into the distance at Outwood. After this, Phil continued circuits, turning the race into a training ride, and did five laps in total until he was told my race was over on completion of my fifth lap. He found it interesting watching some of the other racers calling it a day when they had had enough.

Other Redhill riders didn't have the ideal day, with Dom suffering a mechanical on completion of the first lap. Olly was dropped on the fourth lap and finished with others. Due to the headwind on the south stretch, breaks weren't tending to be established. There was a couple of crashes but none of the same magnitude as the August race last year.

This left Maurice, Dan and Ryan contesting the win. With the racers a little spaced out on the final lap, there was a big team effort to catch the race leaders, and this was done by the start of the final climb. The race was won by Harold Evans of VO2 Development Team. Maurice finished 8th. Dan was our second racer over finishing 15th, with Ryan shortly after.

Well done to Addiscombe CC who put on a great race with lots of Marshalls and a well stocked cake selection at HQ.

Recent Reports

Wed 20 Aug
RCC Club TT - Week 16
Sat 23 Aug
Grand Raid 2014
Sat 23 Aug
MTB Experienced-Woldingham
Sat 23 Aug
Road Rides 23-08-14
Sat 16 Aug
Road Rides 16-08-14
Wed 13 Aug
RCC Club TT - Week 15
Sun 10 Aug
London Ride 100, 2014
Wed 6 Aug
RCC Club TT - Week 14 (back to Horne, earlier start)
Sat 2 Aug
MTB Experienced-Warlingham
Sun 27 Jul
Redhill Sprint Triathlon
Wed 30 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 13
Sun 27 Jul
SCCU 100 - Redhill Club Championship 100
Wed 23 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 12
Fri 11 Jul - Wed 16 Jul
Dolomites - Is there anywhere better?
Sat 19 Jul
Road Rides 19-07-14
Wed 16 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 11
Sat 12 Jul
MTB Experienced - Reigate Hill
Sat 12 Jul
Stowe Triathlon
Sun 13 Jul
Reigate Rouleur Sportive