Nobody mentioned Box Hill!
Twenty or so riders arrived at the 'Drome for a choice of two G2 rides. Mike Omerod led out a group on a "slightly tougher" G2 to Wych Cross (reported separately), and fourteen came on the "normal" G2 to Polesden. Setting off at a brisk pace to warm up on a distinctly chilly...
adewebb's picture
adewebb
Monday, April 16, 2012 - 06:28
4
761

With Mike C. helping out on the front the average speed on the satnav showed 18mph - "hang on a minute - 18mph on a G2", well it was cold and it had been flat. Turning up Stan Hill soon brought us back to reality and with the undulations riding up through Newdigate, Blackbrook and Punchbowl Lane the average dropped back to a more normal G2 level.

After his front stint Mike C turned off home to Dorking - thanks Mike. Anyway, up Pixham Lane, the A24 to Leatherhead and through Fetcham and Bookham via Lower Road, we cut across the A216 up Dorking Road to Polesden Lacey for tea.

Someone in the group must be righteous, because the sun came out as we arrived. We sat outside to scoff cakes etc. and enjoy a long and lively chat. However, over tea someone (Ian T?) - mentioned that the ride description on the sign-up sheet had referred to Box Hill - shock and horror all round as it turned out that half the group had not ridden up the Hill before! But fortified with cake and (the usual) assurances that "we will wait for you", everyone comfortably made the top and were rewarded not by (the usual) teastop but with the plunge down Pebblecombe Hill to Brockham and home via Woodhatch.

Welcome to newcomer Martin and to third ride newcomers Ian and James. Well done to young George who stormed up Box Hill and was well up in the final sprint back to the 'Drome.

Thanks to Ian for yet again back marking so well. Ride stats - 46 miles and just under 14mph for a 2750 feet ride - A very "normal" G2.

Rick

Recent Reports

Sat 1 Mar
Road Rides 01-03-14
Sat 21 Feb
Road Rides 21-02-15
Sun 15 Feb
Sunday Steady 15-02-2015
Sun 15 Feb
RCC 70th Anniversary Sporting 18 Time Trial
Sat 7 Feb
MTB-Experienced Reigate Hill 07/02
Sat 7 Feb
RCC 2014 Awards Evening
Sat 24 Jan
Road Rides 24-01-15
Sat 24 Jan
MTB Experienced - Rykas
Thu 15 Jan
2015 Turbo Session #2
Sat 10 Jan
The Dene
Sat 3 Jan
MTB-Experienced Newlands Corner 03/01
Sun 28 Dec
Sunday Steady 28-12-2014
Sat 13 Dec
MTB Experienced - Rykas
Sat 6 Dec
Road Rides 06-12-14 - CANCELLEF
Sat 29 Nov
Road Rides 29-11-14
Sat 22 Nov
MTB Experienced - Gomshall 22/11
Sat 22 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Milton Heath 22/11
Sat 22 Nov
Road Rides 22-11-14