Nobody mentioned Box Hill!
Twenty or so riders arrived at the 'Drome for a choice of two G2 rides. Mike Omerod led out a group on a "slightly tougher" G2 to Wych Cross (reported separately), and fourteen came on the "normal" G2 to Polesden. Setting off at a brisk pace to warm up on a distinctly chilly...
adewebb's picture
adewebb
Monday, April 16, 2012 - 07:28
4
723

With Mike C. helping out on the front the average speed on the satnav showed 18mph - "hang on a minute - 18mph on a G2", well it was cold and it had been flat. Turning up Stan Hill soon brought us back to reality and with the undulations riding up through Newdigate, Blackbrook and Punchbowl Lane the average dropped back to a more normal G2 level.

After his front stint Mike C turned off home to Dorking - thanks Mike. Anyway, up Pixham Lane, the A24 to Leatherhead and through Fetcham and Bookham via Lower Road, we cut across the A216 up Dorking Road to Polesden Lacey for tea.

Someone in the group must be righteous, because the sun came out as we arrived. We sat outside to scoff cakes etc. and enjoy a long and lively chat. However, over tea someone (Ian T?) - mentioned that the ride description on the sign-up sheet had referred to Box Hill - shock and horror all round as it turned out that half the group had not ridden up the Hill before! But fortified with cake and (the usual) assurances that "we will wait for you", everyone comfortably made the top and were rewarded not by (the usual) teastop but with the plunge down Pebblecombe Hill to Brockham and home via Woodhatch.

Welcome to newcomer Martin and to third ride newcomers Ian and James. Well done to young George who stormed up Box Hill and was well up in the final sprint back to the 'Drome.

Thanks to Ian for yet again back marking so well. Ride stats - 46 miles and just under 14mph for a 2750 feet ride - A very "normal" G2.

Rick

Recent Reports

Sat 22 Nov
Road Rides 22-11-14
Sun 16 Nov
Sunday Steady 16-11-2014
Sat 8 Nov
MTB-Downhill Day at Rogate/Stoughton
Sat 1 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Warlingham 01/11
Sun 19 Oct
Redmon GP des Gentlemen 19-10-14
Sat 25 Oct
MTB-Intermediate Milton Heath 25/10
Sat 18 Oct
MTB-intermediate Reigate Hill 18/10
Wed 1 Oct
Marseille to Reigate
Sat 11 Oct
Road Rides 11-10-14
Sun 5 Oct
Cycling Nuts
Sun 21 Sep
Crawley Late Summer Triathlon
Sun 5 Oct
Denbies Duels
Sun 28 Sep
Hever Castle Half Iron distance Triathlon
Sun 28 Sep
Hever Castle Sprint Triathlon Sept 2014
Sat 4 Oct
MTB-Experienced Kenley 04/10
Sat 27 Sep
MTB-Experienced Holmwood 27/09
Sat 27 Sep
Road Rides 27-09-14
Sun 28 Sep
Sunday Steady 28-09-2014
Sat 27 Sep
Road Rides 27-09-14
Sat 20 Sep
Road Rides 20-09-14