Nobody mentioned Box Hill!
Twenty or so riders arrived at the 'Drome for a choice of two G2 rides. Mike Omerod led out a group on a "slightly tougher" G2 to Wych Cross (reported separately), and fourteen came on the "normal" G2 to Polesden. Setting off at a brisk pace to warm up on a distinctly chilly...
adewebb's picture
Adrian Webb
Monday, April 16, 2012 - 07:28
4
851

With Mike C. helping out on the front the average speed on the satnav showed 18mph - "hang on a minute - 18mph on a G2", well it was cold and it had been flat. Turning up Stan Hill soon brought us back to reality and with the undulations riding up through Newdigate, Blackbrook and Punchbowl Lane the average dropped back to a more normal G2 level.

After his front stint Mike C turned off home to Dorking - thanks Mike. Anyway, up Pixham Lane, the A24 to Leatherhead and through Fetcham and Bookham via Lower Road, we cut across the A216 up Dorking Road to Polesden Lacey for tea.

Someone in the group must be righteous, because the sun came out as we arrived. We sat outside to scoff cakes etc. and enjoy a long and lively chat. However, over tea someone (Ian T?) - mentioned that the ride description on the sign-up sheet had referred to Box Hill - shock and horror all round as it turned out that half the group had not ridden up the Hill before! But fortified with cake and (the usual) assurances that "we will wait for you", everyone comfortably made the top and were rewarded not by (the usual) teastop but with the plunge down Pebblecombe Hill to Brockham and home via Woodhatch.

Welcome to newcomer Martin and to third ride newcomers Ian and James. Well done to young George who stormed up Box Hill and was well up in the final sprint back to the 'Drome.

Thanks to Ian for yet again back marking so well. Ride stats - 46 miles and just under 14mph for a 2750 feet ride - A very "normal" G2.

Rick

Recent Reports

Sun 25 Sep
Sunday Steady 25-09-2016
Sun 18 Sep
Sunday Steady 18-09-2016
Sat 10 Sep
Road Rides 10-09-16
Sun 4 Sep
Sunday Steady 04-09-2016
Sat 9 Jul
Salzkammergut Trophy 2016
Sat 20 Aug
Grand Raid 2016
Wed 31 Aug
RCC 2016 TT Series #17
Wed 24 Aug
RCC 2016 TT Series #16
Sun 21 Aug
8th European Deaf Road Cycling Championships
Sat 13 Aug
Road Rides 13-08-16
Wed 10 Aug
RCC 2016 TT Series #14
Sun 7 Aug
Sunday Steady 07-08-2016
Wed 3 Aug
RCC 2016 TT Series #13
Sat 23 Jul
MTB- Intermediate Wotton Hatch 2307
Wed 6 Jul
RCC 2016 TT Series #10
Sat 2 Jul
Road Rides 02-07-16
Wed 6 Jul
RCC 2016 TT Series #10
Sat 4 Jul
Redhill CC Sporting 14 TT - GS/189
Sun 19 Jun
Sunday Steady 19-06-2016