Licensed to thrill, in Shackleford!
Who’d have thought when 18 of us set off from Shackleford this morning we’d have stumbled across the set of a new James Bond movie, Skyfall. Ok we didn’t quite see the explosion, just the framework of the Scottish lodge built at Rushmoor, Surrey...
phil101's picture
Sunday, April 8, 2012 - 11:28
1
897

A very pleasant 12mile ride to the tea stop at Hindhead took us through stunning, varied scenery, pine forest, heath land and gorse, stopping only briefly to strip a layer of clothing as the day warmed. A new tough climb up Gibbet Hill showed who had tired legs, (most of us), definitely a hill to try again soon. Although the rush to be served first at the tea stop showed the recovery rate of those legs was fairly swift! Half an hour at Devils Punch Bowl and we headed south down Beacon Hill, a mile long descent over rocky dry ground.

On to the stunning open ground of Rushmoor where we posed for a picture before making a very tricky descent down a deep sandy path that everyone found a challenge. Next stop Tilford, a pretty village with a deep river crossing (for those not choosing the bridge, Marcus) see attached link to you tube. Four miles to go, riding through a birch wood at Crooksbury Common and back to the Shackleford road, an enthusiastic group at the front started to ride the whole loop again, shows how much attention they were paying.

A brilliant day, thanks to everyone who came.

Dave.

Recent Reports

Sun 18 Sep
Sunday Steady 18-09-2016
Sat 10 Sep
Road Rides 10-09-16
Sun 4 Sep
Sunday Steady 04-09-2016
Sat 9 Jul
Salzkammergut Trophy 2016
Sat 20 Aug
Grand Raid 2016
Wed 31 Aug
RCC 2016 TT Series #17
Wed 24 Aug
RCC 2016 TT Series #16
Sun 21 Aug
8th European Deaf Road Cycling Championships
Sat 13 Aug
Road Rides 13-08-16
Wed 10 Aug
RCC 2016 TT Series #14
Sun 7 Aug
Sunday Steady 07-08-2016
Wed 3 Aug
RCC 2016 TT Series #13
Sat 23 Jul
MTB- Intermediate Wotton Hatch 2307
Wed 6 Jul
RCC 2016 TT Series #10
Sat 2 Jul
Road Rides 02-07-16
Wed 6 Jul
RCC 2016 TT Series #10
Sat 4 Jul
Redhill CC Sporting 14 TT - GS/189
Sun 19 Jun
Sunday Steady 19-06-2016
Thu 9 Jun - Sun 12 Jun
MTB Lake District Weekend