Licensed to thrill, in Shackleford!
Who’d have thought when 18 of us set off from Shackleford this morning we’d have stumbled across the set of a new James Bond movie, Skyfall. Ok we didn’t quite see the explosion, just the framework of the Scottish lodge built at Rushmoor, Surrey...
phil101's picture
phil101
Sunday, April 8, 2012 - 11:28
1
702

A very pleasant 12mile ride to the tea stop at Hindhead took us through stunning, varied scenery, pine forest, heath land and gorse, stopping only briefly to strip a layer of clothing as the day warmed. A new tough climb up Gibbet Hill showed who had tired legs, (most of us), definitely a hill to try again soon. Although the rush to be served first at the tea stop showed the recovery rate of those legs was fairly swift! Half an hour at Devils Punch Bowl and we headed south down Beacon Hill, a mile long descent over rocky dry ground.

On to the stunning open ground of Rushmoor where we posed for a picture before making a very tricky descent down a deep sandy path that everyone found a challenge. Next stop Tilford, a pretty village with a deep river crossing (for those not choosing the bridge, Marcus) see attached link to you tube. Four miles to go, riding through a birch wood at Crooksbury Common and back to the Shackleford road, an enthusiastic group at the front started to ride the whole loop again, shows how much attention they were paying.

A brilliant day, thanks to everyone who came.

Dave.

Recent Reports

Sat 28 Mar
Road Rides 28-03-15
Sat 28 Mar
MTB-Intermediate Rykas 28/03
Wed 18 Mar - Wed 25 Mar
Mallorca 2015
Sat 21 Mar
MTB-Intermediate Reigate Hill 21/03
Sat 7 Mar
MTB-Intermediate Bletchingley 07/03
Sat 7 Mar
Road Rides 07-03-15
Sat 7 Mar
Road Rides 07-03-15
Sat 1 Mar
Road Rides 01-03-14
Sat 21 Feb
Road Rides 21-02-15
Sun 15 Feb
Sunday Steady 15-02-2015
Sun 15 Feb
RCC 70th Anniversary Sporting 18 Time Trial
Sat 7 Feb
MTB-Experienced Reigate Hill 07/02
Sat 7 Feb
RCC 2014 Awards Evening
Sat 24 Jan
Road Rides 24-01-15
Sat 24 Jan
MTB Experienced - Rykas
Thu 15 Jan
2015 Turbo Session #2
Sat 10 Jan
The Dene
Sat 3 Jan
MTB-Experienced Newlands Corner 03/01