Licensed to thrill, in Shackleford!
Who’d have thought when 18 of us set off from Shackleford this morning we’d have stumbled across the set of a new James Bond movie, Skyfall. Ok we didn’t quite see the explosion, just the framework of the Scottish lodge built at Rushmoor, Surrey...
phil101's picture
phil101
Sunday, April 8, 2012 - 11:28
1
647

A very pleasant 12mile ride to the tea stop at Hindhead took us through stunning, varied scenery, pine forest, heath land and gorse, stopping only briefly to strip a layer of clothing as the day warmed. A new tough climb up Gibbet Hill showed who had tired legs, (most of us), definitely a hill to try again soon. Although the rush to be served first at the tea stop showed the recovery rate of those legs was fairly swift! Half an hour at Devils Punch Bowl and we headed south down Beacon Hill, a mile long descent over rocky dry ground.

On to the stunning open ground of Rushmoor where we posed for a picture before making a very tricky descent down a deep sandy path that everyone found a challenge. Next stop Tilford, a pretty village with a deep river crossing (for those not choosing the bridge, Marcus) see attached link to you tube. Four miles to go, riding through a birch wood at Crooksbury Common and back to the Shackleford road, an enthusiastic group at the front started to ride the whole loop again, shows how much attention they were paying.

A brilliant day, thanks to everyone who came.

Dave.

Recent Reports

Sat 13 Sep
MTB Experienced - SDW 40
Sun 14 Sep
Sunday Steady 14-09-2014
Sat 13 Sep
MTB Experienced - Reigate Hill
Sat 13 Sep
Road Rides 13-09-14
Fri 5 Sep - Sun 7 Sep
Calais weekend
Sun 11 Sep
SCCU '25' (Club Championship)
Sat 6 Sep
Road Rides 06-09-14
Sat 6 Sep
MTB Experienced-Gomshall 06/09
Sat 30 Aug
Bealach Mor Challenge 2014
Sat 23 Aug
Road Rides 23-08-14
Sun 31 Aug
Redhill Rollercoaster Sportive 2014
Sun 31 Aug
Surrey League Sharpthorne 2/3 road race
Sat 30 Aug
MTB-Experienced Warlingham 30/08
Wed 20 Aug
RCC Club TT - Week 16
Sat 23 Aug
Grand Raid 2014
Sat 23 Aug
MTB Experienced-Woldingham
Sat 23 Aug
Road Rides 23-08-14
Sat 16 Aug
Road Rides 16-08-14
Wed 13 Aug
RCC Club TT - Week 15