Harp skip and a jump to Effingham
Twelve riders left the Aerodrome. Ride route was out to Charlwood, Rusper, Ockley, Barhatch, Shere, Combe Lane, Effingham, tea stop at Fetcham, Leatherhead, Longbottom, Box Hill and home.
Chris Hall
Sunday, April 8, 2012 - 12:39
1
581

Speeds up to Cranleigh were averaging 19.5mph, not hanging around, and not seeing much scenery. Just before Ewhurst Peter F had a broken spoke, between the newly tarmaced surfaces, which put an end to his ride. I chose to go the long way round Barhatch, as I was unsure how wet the climb would be and if having to move over for a car to go by, could mean going onto the wet slippery inside and possibly no traction for the ascent, making it harder work than necessary. Coming out at the top and descending towards Shere, a fantastic descent, then up the gradual slog of Combe Lane, again another descent and missing out Crocknorth, which all agree is a horrible climb and one to avoid and straight to the A247 for two miles to Effingham. We then went on to Lower Road for the tea stop, which had the lovely Iola and friend playing the harp, which we all enjoyed whilst drinking tea and eating delicious cakes. The final section of the route was to Fetcham, out the top of Leatherhead towards Headley, turning right down Longbottom Lane another lovely descent to the bottom of Box Hill, where most of the riders went up Box Hill. Peter (G6) had an un-cooperative cassette; he could ride so long as he did not freewheel, adding to the challenges of the ride for him. I left to go back towards Dorking and he chose to go along the A25, the quickest route home. I think this is one of the better rides to minimise ascents for the longest descents. Thanks Brian for the title. Stats 18.3 ave mph

Recent Reports

Sat 28 Mar
Road Rides 28-03-15
Sat 28 Mar
MTB-Intermediate Rykas 28/03
Wed 18 Mar - Wed 25 Mar
Mallorca 2015
Sat 21 Mar
MTB-Intermediate Reigate Hill 21/03
Sat 7 Mar
MTB-Intermediate Bletchingley 07/03
Sat 7 Mar
Road Rides 07-03-15
Sat 7 Mar
Road Rides 07-03-15
Sat 1 Mar
Road Rides 01-03-14
Sat 21 Feb
Road Rides 21-02-15
Sun 15 Feb
Sunday Steady 15-02-2015
Sun 15 Feb
RCC 70th Anniversary Sporting 18 Time Trial
Sat 7 Feb
MTB-Experienced Reigate Hill 07/02
Sat 7 Feb
RCC 2014 Awards Evening
Sat 24 Jan
Road Rides 24-01-15
Sat 24 Jan
MTB Experienced - Rykas
Thu 15 Jan
2015 Turbo Session #2
Sat 10 Jan
The Dene
Sat 3 Jan
MTB-Experienced Newlands Corner 03/01