The Dirty Side
Alongside of the road trip planned by Frank, members familiar with the off road side met at Cannock, near Birmingham, for a warm up on Friday then headed of to Coed Y Brenin to try out the technical trails
stevegrant's picture
stevegrant
Sunday, April 29, 2012 - 17:19
2
903

Alongside of the road trip planned by Frank, members familiar with the off road side met at Cannock, near Birmingham, for a warm up on Friday then headed of to Coed Y Brenin to try out the technical trails

A group of twenty plus met up at the trail centre Saturday morning. The trails here are designed for the faint hearted, incorporating rocky hazards with twisty descents. Many surprises await the unsuspecting. To make sure
nobody has taken a wrong turn the first ascent out of the trail centre is seriously rocky climb, sending those who may have made a mistake quickly back to base - Literally. Absolute chaos ahead, there were hoots and yells as our group made our way to the top, by which time we had split into naturally smaller and manageable groups.

The beast was the order of the day. We chased the beast for the first part of the day, many climbs were rewarded with many challenging descents.

Abel throws the rider at speed over many rocky steps, too slow and your over the bars, out of control and your over the edge. A rough and tough ride, Aching forearms, shaking hands and big grins at the base

Next, the rebuilt false teethe. A fast and furious roller coaster ride, not for the faint hearted or hard tail rider, but if your brave enough the drops and step jumps are a real thrill

And the list goes on, Morticia, Uncle Fester, Lurch, yep all named after the Addams family and just as dark and mysterious and plenty around each corner to spook the rider

The weather was kind considering what could have been. A few showers and low temperatures but that didn't effect the riding, just the duration. However, many found room for more in the afternoon

Sunday and we were back at the trail centre. again the group split with a number taking to the red routes close to the trail centre for a play on the trails. A small group headed across the road to the Tawr trail. The original trail at the centre and one of the oldest purpose built trails in Wales, another technical challenge with tree routes and rocky decents in abundance

Many smiles and very few incidents later we set of home at about 1

I believe were booked in for next year

Steve

Recent Reports

Sat 6 Feb
MTB Experienced 06/02- Reigate Hill
Sun 31 Jan
MTB-Enduro1 Christmas Blow Out, Bagshot
Sun 24 Jan
Sunday Steady 24-01-2016
Sat 23 Jan
MTB-Experienced Coldharbour 23/01
Sat 16 Jan
MTB-Intermediate Ranmore 16/16
Sat 9 Jan
MTB-Intermediate Epsom Downs 09/16
Sun 20 Dec
The 2015 MINCE PIE RUN
Sun 20 Dec
MTB Mince Pie Ride
Sat 28 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Rykas 28/11
Sat 21 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Ranmore Common 21/10
Sat 14 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Epsom Downs 14/11
Sat 7 Nov
Road Rides 07-11-15
Sat 31 Oct
Road Rides 31-10-15
Sat 31 Oct
Pedal In Preston Park 2015
Sat 24 Oct
Road Rides 24-10-15
Tue 20 Oct
Newcomers ride 10/10/15
Tue 20 Oct
Dungeness report 04/10/15
Sat 3 Oct
MTB-Intermediate Leigh 03/10
Sat 10 Oct
Mtb Experienced- Reigate Hill