Loopy G1
The sunny promise brought out the riders on saturday. Adrian counted 83 riders at the Drome... but I had earlier told myself that there would be lots going on G2, so probably not many for my G1. Wrong!
adewebb's picture
adewebb
Wednesday, March 28, 2012 - 05:53
2
714

We ended up with Dave, Simon, Heidi, Bryan, Jo, Jamie, Mary Ann, Cynthia, Peter, Francis, Frank and myself - 12 splendid riders for a bimble around the lanes to Lingfield.

The pace was a bit quick for a G1 at the start - probably the sunshine getting people keen - but we settled down into a more comfortable pace, through Outwood and Crowhurst and looked like getting to the tea-stop early. A quick check round the group and it was agreed (i.e. I decided) that we would put an extra loop around to the east of Lingfield.

This added a few miles to the ride, but lovely lanes, including one which went through the grounds of N.C.Y.P.E. (look it up). An extraordinary place that is a sort of villiage that pops up out of nowhere. There is probably a lot of history to it which no doubt someone in the club can tell us.

And so on to Occasionally Yours for a welcome tea and cake after 20 miles. One conversation was about how many of us point out potholes when riding before realising that we are on our own...........(actually, shouting "car" when you are on your own is even worse).

Soon on our way again, and back through my favourite lanes around Horne towards Smallfield. Frank suggested another little loop to the south of Smallfield to add in another couple of miles but no hills, and it was back to the aerodrome via for about 12:15. In all about 32 miles at 13.something average. Lovely day, great company. Big thanks to Frank for backmarking. And I need to find a new G1 teastop because......

NOTE TO RIDE LEADERS - The whole Occasionally Yours site is moving to South Godstone soon, so check before you plan a stop.

Roy

Recent Reports

Sat 21 Feb
Road Rides 21-02-15
Sun 15 Feb
Sunday Steady 15-02-2015
Sun 15 Feb
RCC 70th Anniversary Sporting 18 Time Trial
Sat 7 Feb
MTB-Experienced Reigate Hill 07/02
Sat 7 Feb
RCC 2014 Awards Evening
Sat 24 Jan
Road Rides 24-01-15
Sat 24 Jan
MTB Experienced - Rykas
Thu 15 Jan
2015 Turbo Session #2
Sat 10 Jan
The Dene
Sat 3 Jan
MTB-Experienced Newlands Corner 03/01
Sun 28 Dec
Sunday Steady 28-12-2014
Sat 13 Dec
MTB Experienced - Rykas
Sat 6 Dec
Road Rides 06-12-14 - CANCELLEF
Sat 29 Nov
Road Rides 29-11-14
Sat 22 Nov
MTB Experienced - Gomshall 22/11
Sat 22 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Milton Heath 22/11
Sat 22 Nov
Road Rides 22-11-14
Sun 16 Nov
Sunday Steady 16-11-2014