Happy Birthday Mrs H
19 experienced riders met up at the Plough and set off with plans to meet up with Frank’s social ride at Knights Garden Centre in Oxted for our tea stop.
MatSwan's picture
MatSwan
Monday, January 23, 2012 - 19:57
4
671

19 experienced riders met up at the Plough and set off with plans to meet up with Frank’s social ride at Knights Garden Centre in Oxted for our tea stop.

As we set off I noticed that one regular rider Mark H was missing! Expecting a muddy ride I thought this may be the reason for his absence- as we all know Mark hates mudguards spoiling the look of his new Canyon!! Simon informed me that it was Mark’s wife’s birthday and this was the reason he could not make it. It’s still her birthday when you get home and she has one every year so that’s gone down as absent without leave!

We headed towards GavelHill Wood with Mark very much missed and then around the loop through Pound Hill Wood past Lodge Farm where we found the only badly mudded section courtesy of the farmers tractor.

Hangdog Wood took down our only puncture of the day giving me an opportunity for a quick photo.

We arrived at Knights spot on at 11.30 where Frank and his merry men (and women) were half way through their cup of tea. It was here we lost one member Terry but gained one from Frank’s clan Lee, who with his hero cam strapped to his helmet wanted a bit more action from the second half of his ride.

This came at Marden Park where Lee, Rainer and Jack managed to find a gap between the tree and the fence that surrounds the bomb crater, the fence not quite doing the job it was meant to do when installed a few months back!!

I’m sure Lee will upload this footage for all to enjoy?

We all finished back at the pub where I am contracted to consume at least one pint for the use of the car park (things I do for the club) and was joined by 9 other thirsty riders, one in particular being a bad influence but mentioning no names!!

Good ride thanks to everyone, thanks to Mike for back marking and happy birthday Mrs H.

Colin

Recent Reports

Fri 26 Jun - Sun 28 Jun
RCC Paris Raid
Sat 27 Jun
Road Rides 27-06-15
Sat 15 Feb
MTB Intermediate-Bletchingley
Sat 27 Jun
Road Rides 27-06-15
Sat 20 Jun
South Downs Way 2015
Sat 20 Jun
Road Rides 20-06-15
Sat 20 Jun
MTB Experienced 200615- Reigate Hill
Sun 21 Jun
Hedley's Longest Day Kent Extravaganza
Wed 17 Jun
Club TT - Week 7
Sat 20 Jun
MTB Intermediate Reigate Hill 20/06
Sat 13 Jun
Road Rides 13-06-15
Sat 13 Jun
MTB-Experienced Coldharbour 13/06
Sun 7 Jun
Sunday Steady 07-06-2015
Wed 3 Jun
Club TT - Week 5 (Change to Horne 10 course)
Sat 30 May
Road Rides 30-05-15
Wed 27 May
Club TT - Week 4
Mon 25 May
Bank Holiday Steady 25-05-2015
Sat 23 May
MTB-Intermediate Reigate Hill 23/05
Wed 21 May
RCC Club TT - Week 3