G2 or 2.5 or 2.75- who knows?
  Following on from Frank's route last Sunday, I decided that this route to Westerham was perfect for a 2,2,5,2,75 type ride! When we left base Frank told me we had 27 in tow..however he had counted the G3's as well as us, so in fact we had 19!
francis's picture
francis
Saturday, October 22, 2011 - 22:14
1
561

 

Following on from Frank's route last Sunday, I decided that this route to Westerham was perfect for a 2,2,5,2,75 type ride!

When we left base Frank told me we had 27 in tow..however he had counted the G3's as well as us, so in fact we had 19!

A varied, good natured bunch followed my usual haphazard approach to ride leading and once we had climbed Tandridge  Hill to the A25 thought that that was the hill I had threatened! Oh no - we still had Tandridge Lane Hill to conquer, which with the 14% sign at the bottom told you all you needed to know!

 

The fantastic long descent into Westerham off The Ridge put smiles on everyone's face. At the tea rooms, we managed to confuse  staff by moving around a lot!

The climb on leaving Winston's statue provoked a few moans but I hope that everyone agrees that this is a fantasitc 2/3 ride particularly given the great weather again!

Thanks to Frank for his route and usual aplomb at back marking, to Keith for thenon-PC remarks, and all for a great ride in the Autumn sun!

Thanks all.  IAN

Distance 45 miles with almost 2300 feet of climb.

View route here 

http://maps.google.com/?q=http://share.abvio.com/1439/041a/4e9b/9671/Cyclemeter-Cycle-20111022-0914.kml

Recent Reports

Wed 20 Aug
RCC Club TT - Week 16
Sat 23 Aug
Grand Raid 2014
Sat 23 Aug
MTB Experienced-Woldingham
Sat 23 Aug
Road Rides 23-08-14
Sat 16 Aug
Road Rides 16-08-14
Wed 13 Aug
RCC Club TT - Week 15
Sun 10 Aug
London Ride 100, 2014
Wed 6 Aug
RCC Club TT - Week 14 (back to Horne, earlier start)
Sat 2 Aug
MTB Experienced-Warlingham
Sun 27 Jul
Redhill Sprint Triathlon
Wed 30 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 13
Sun 27 Jul
SCCU 100 - Redhill Club Championship 100
Wed 23 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 12
Fri 11 Jul - Wed 16 Jul
Dolomites - Is there anywhere better?
Sat 19 Jul
Road Rides 19-07-14
Wed 16 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 11
Sat 12 Jul
MTB Experienced - Reigate Hill
Sat 12 Jul
Stowe Triathlon
Sun 13 Jul
Reigate Rouleur Sportive