MTB - RCC Organised >> Exp MTB Ride - Purbeck Hills Dorset
Purbeck

We promised Hills.

stevegrant's picture
stevegrant
Saturday, September 11, 2010 - 07:16
0
727

We promised Hills.

4 met at the campsite early saturday morning, rising from the various sleeping arrangements. Off for an ealry breakfast in swanage then we headed down to Studland for the start.

Dave provided us with a map (via Helen - thanks) with some new tracks for us to follow. We laid our plans and set off towards Courfe. Across the golf course on some fairly technical challenging tarrain where we found our first climb.

Very much like the south downs, chalky paths would lead us up and down for much of the day, across farmers fields, through camp sites (inluding the one we started in)and around M.O.D firing ranges.

We were lead up to Cliff edges, dropping down into Kimeridge bay and back up once more. Stunning views and backdrops all the way.

We stopped at Kimmeridge for Lunch about midday, then headed back towards Corfe for an Ice cream stop. Only about five miles covered in between but heavy on the legs none the less.

Climbing out of Corfe on what looked like a gentle climb in the morning proved to be the biggest of the day. Ithink we were going up for about 40 minutes or more. One last push before we could decend down Ballard down to the famous Old Harry rocks at studland - Bless him

A rest at the beach and a pint at the pub followed. We all stayed saturday night. A spot of Puffin spotting after breakfast and off to poole to get in the water

What a pleasure

Thanks to Lee for back marking

Recent Reports

RCC Club TT - Week 12
Wed 23 Jul
Dolomites - Is there anywhere better?
Fri 11 Jul - Wed 16 Jul
Road Rides 19-07-14
Sat 19 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 11
Wed 16 Jul
MTB Experienced - Reigate Hill
Sat 12 Jul
Reigate Rouleur Sportive
Sun 13 Jul
Surrey League Cat 2/3 road race
Sun 13 Jul
Road Rides 12-07-14
Sat 12 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 10
Wed 9 Jul
Tour of Sussex - 3 days
Fri 4 Jul - Sun 6 Jul