stevegrant's picture
stevegrant
Saturday, September 11, 2010 - 08:16
745

We promised Hills.

4 met at the campsite early saturday morning, rising from the various sleeping arrangements. Off for an ealry breakfast in swanage then we headed down to Studland for the start.

Dave provided us with a map (via Helen - thanks) with some new tracks for us to follow. We laid our plans and set off towards Courfe. Across the golf course on some fairly technical challenging tarrain where we found our first climb.

Very much like the south downs, chalky paths would lead us up and down for much of the day, across farmers fields, through camp sites (inluding the one we started in)and around M.O.D firing ranges.

We were lead up to Cliff edges, dropping down into Kimeridge bay and back up once more. Stunning views and backdrops all the way.

We stopped at Kimmeridge for Lunch about midday, then headed back towards Corfe for an Ice cream stop. Only about five miles covered in between but heavy on the legs none the less.

Climbing out of Corfe on what looked like a gentle climb in the morning proved to be the biggest of the day. Ithink we were going up for about 40 minutes or more. One last push before we could decend down Ballard down to the famous Old Harry rocks at studland - Bless him

A rest at the beach and a pint at the pub followed. We all stayed saturday night. A spot of Puffin spotting after breakfast and off to poole to get in the water

What a pleasure

Thanks to Lee for back marking

Recent Reports

Sat 18 Oct
MTB-intermediate Reigate Hill 18/10
Wed 1 Oct
Marseille to Reigate
Sat 11 Oct
Road Rides 11-10-14
Sun 5 Oct
Cycling Nuts
Sun 21 Sep
Crawley Late Summer Triathlon
Sun 5 Oct
Denbies Duels
Sun 28 Sep
Hever Castle Half Iron distance Triathlon
Sun 28 Sep
Hever Castle Sprint Triathlon Sept 2014
Sat 4 Oct
MTB-Experienced Kenley 04/10
Sat 27 Sep
MTB-Experienced Holmwood 27/09
Sat 27 Sep
Road Rides 27-09-14
Sun 28 Sep
Sunday Steady 28-09-2014
Sat 27 Sep
Road Rides 27-09-14
Sat 20 Sep
Road Rides 20-09-14
Sat 20 Sep
Road Rides 20-09-14
Sat 13 Sep
MTB Experienced - SDW 40
Sun 14 Sep
Sunday Steady 14-09-2014
Sat 13 Sep
MTB Experienced - Reigate Hill
Sat 13 Sep
Road Rides 13-09-14
Fri 5 Sep - Sun 7 Sep
Calais weekend