stevegrant's picture
stevegrant
Saturday, September 11, 2010 - 08:16
938

We promised Hills.

4 met at the campsite early saturday morning, rising from the various sleeping arrangements. Off for an ealry breakfast in swanage then we headed down to Studland for the start.

Dave provided us with a map (via Helen - thanks) with some new tracks for us to follow. We laid our plans and set off towards Courfe. Across the golf course on some fairly technical challenging tarrain where we found our first climb.

Very much like the south downs, chalky paths would lead us up and down for much of the day, across farmers fields, through camp sites (inluding the one we started in)and around M.O.D firing ranges.

We were lead up to Cliff edges, dropping down into Kimeridge bay and back up once more. Stunning views and backdrops all the way.

We stopped at Kimmeridge for Lunch about midday, then headed back towards Corfe for an Ice cream stop. Only about five miles covered in between but heavy on the legs none the less.

Climbing out of Corfe on what looked like a gentle climb in the morning proved to be the biggest of the day. Ithink we were going up for about 40 minutes or more. One last push before we could decend down Ballard down to the famous Old Harry rocks at studland - Bless him

A rest at the beach and a pint at the pub followed. We all stayed saturday night. A spot of Puffin spotting after breakfast and off to poole to get in the water

What a pleasure

Thanks to Lee for back marking

Recent Reports

Sun 19 Jun
Sunday Steady 19-06-2016
Thu 9 Jun - Sun 12 Jun
MTB Lake District Weekend
Wed 15 Jun
RCC 2016 TT series #7
Wed 8 Jun
RCC 2016 Time Trial series #6
Wed 1 Jun
RCC 2016 TT series #5
Fri 20 May - Mon 23 May
Le Mans 72
Wed 25 May
RCC 2016 TT series #4
Mon 30 May
Bank Holiday Steady 30-05-2016
Sat 28 May
MTB-Experienced Holmbury St Mary 2805
Wed 18 May
RCC 2016 TT series #3
Sat 14 May
MTB- Experienced Gomshall 1405
Sun 17 Apr
BUCS 2016 Antur Stiniog
Wed 11 May
RCC 2016 TT series #2
Sat 30 Apr
Road Rides 30-04-16
Wed 20 Apr - Wed 27 Apr
Mallorca 2016
Sat 2 Apr
Road Rides 02-04-16
Sat 26 Mar
MTB-Experienced Holmbury St Mary 2603
Sat 19 Mar
MTB-Intermediate Reigate Hill 19/03