stevegrant's picture
stevegrant
Saturday, September 11, 2010 - 08:16
808

We promised Hills.

4 met at the campsite early saturday morning, rising from the various sleeping arrangements. Off for an ealry breakfast in swanage then we headed down to Studland for the start.

Dave provided us with a map (via Helen - thanks) with some new tracks for us to follow. We laid our plans and set off towards Courfe. Across the golf course on some fairly technical challenging tarrain where we found our first climb.

Very much like the south downs, chalky paths would lead us up and down for much of the day, across farmers fields, through camp sites (inluding the one we started in)and around M.O.D firing ranges.

We were lead up to Cliff edges, dropping down into Kimeridge bay and back up once more. Stunning views and backdrops all the way.

We stopped at Kimmeridge for Lunch about midday, then headed back towards Corfe for an Ice cream stop. Only about five miles covered in between but heavy on the legs none the less.

Climbing out of Corfe on what looked like a gentle climb in the morning proved to be the biggest of the day. Ithink we were going up for about 40 minutes or more. One last push before we could decend down Ballard down to the famous Old Harry rocks at studland - Bless him

A rest at the beach and a pint at the pub followed. We all stayed saturday night. A spot of Puffin spotting after breakfast and off to poole to get in the water

What a pleasure

Thanks to Lee for back marking

Recent Reports

Sat 27 Jun
Road Rides 27-06-15
Sat 15 Feb
MTB Intermediate-Bletchingley
Sat 27 Jun
Road Rides 27-06-15
Sat 20 Jun
South Downs Way 2015
Sat 20 Jun
Road Rides 20-06-15
Sat 20 Jun
MTB Experienced 200615- Reigate Hill
Sun 21 Jun
Hedley's Longest Day Kent Extravaganza
Wed 17 Jun
Club TT - Week 7
Sat 20 Jun
MTB Intermediate Reigate Hill 20/06
Sat 13 Jun
Road Rides 13-06-15
Sat 13 Jun
MTB-Experienced Coldharbour 13/06
Sun 7 Jun
Sunday Steady 07-06-2015
Wed 3 Jun
Club TT - Week 5 (Change to Horne 10 course)
Sat 30 May
Road Rides 30-05-15
Wed 27 May
Club TT - Week 4
Mon 25 May
Bank Holiday Steady 25-05-2015
Sat 23 May
MTB-Intermediate Reigate Hill 23/05
Wed 21 May
RCC Club TT - Week 3
Sat 16 May - Sun 17 May
Isle of Wight Weekend Away