stevegrant's picture
stevegrant
Saturday, September 11, 2010 - 08:16
740

We promised Hills.

4 met at the campsite early saturday morning, rising from the various sleeping arrangements. Off for an ealry breakfast in swanage then we headed down to Studland for the start.

Dave provided us with a map (via Helen - thanks) with some new tracks for us to follow. We laid our plans and set off towards Courfe. Across the golf course on some fairly technical challenging tarrain where we found our first climb.

Very much like the south downs, chalky paths would lead us up and down for much of the day, across farmers fields, through camp sites (inluding the one we started in)and around M.O.D firing ranges.

We were lead up to Cliff edges, dropping down into Kimeridge bay and back up once more. Stunning views and backdrops all the way.

We stopped at Kimmeridge for Lunch about midday, then headed back towards Corfe for an Ice cream stop. Only about five miles covered in between but heavy on the legs none the less.

Climbing out of Corfe on what looked like a gentle climb in the morning proved to be the biggest of the day. Ithink we were going up for about 40 minutes or more. One last push before we could decend down Ballard down to the famous Old Harry rocks at studland - Bless him

A rest at the beach and a pint at the pub followed. We all stayed saturday night. A spot of Puffin spotting after breakfast and off to poole to get in the water

What a pleasure

Thanks to Lee for back marking

Recent Reports

Sat 13 Sep
MTB Experienced - SDW 40
Sun 14 Sep
Sunday Steady 14-09-2014
Sat 13 Sep
MTB Experienced - Reigate Hill
Sat 13 Sep
Road Rides 13-09-14
Fri 5 Sep - Sun 7 Sep
Calais weekend
Sun 11 Sep
SCCU '25' (Club Championship)
Sat 6 Sep
Road Rides 06-09-14
Sat 6 Sep
MTB Experienced-Gomshall 06/09
Sat 30 Aug
Bealach Mor Challenge 2014
Sat 23 Aug
Road Rides 23-08-14
Sun 31 Aug
Redhill Rollercoaster Sportive 2014
Sun 31 Aug
Surrey League Sharpthorne 2/3 road race
Sat 30 Aug
MTB-Experienced Warlingham 30/08
Wed 20 Aug
RCC Club TT - Week 16
Sat 23 Aug
Grand Raid 2014
Sat 23 Aug
MTB Experienced-Woldingham
Sat 23 Aug
Road Rides 23-08-14
Sat 16 Aug
Road Rides 16-08-14
Wed 13 Aug
RCC Club TT - Week 15