rsterry's picture
rsterry
Saturday, March 20, 2010 - 17:54
1,176

Leaving home amidst a heavy downpour was not an encouraging start. On reaching Reigate Hill there were 6 enthusiastic riders keen to hone their skills for special events planned in the summer. Gareth, Monika, Keith and myself are preparing for the Muc-Off 8 on 11th April. Paul has the South Downs Way in his sights while Chris would like to do Trans Wales, and Mike is still considering his options. Gareth was trying out a very bright Orange bike that required sunglasses to see it.

Setting off, we deliberately held back the pace so we could all warm up sufficiently. After explaining the next section of the route we headed off at our own pace deliberately not stopping at the tops of the hills. The aim was to climb the hills and recover whilst continuing to ride. In endurance or race scenarios, it is not practical to take a rest at the top of every climb. The mud was in abundance as we slid about whilst maintaining our balance. As the rain came down the mud came up, we got covered!

The next section consisted of a 4 mile loop comprising of a long climb, some flatter parts, then a single track descent. Riding it twice individually, we learnt how to pace ourselves whilst picking the best line on the technical parts. The biggest problem was navigation as some riders added a few extra trails to the route.

Continuing up and over another hill, we reach Brockets Farm soaked through and covered in mud. With odd looks from their other visitors, we grab a welcome hot drink and a slice of their famous Mars Bar cake.

Putting on soggy gloves and a wet helmet is not pleasant, so we chose the most direct route back. There was no let up from the rain as we splashed and squelched along the trails. We could almost hear the pound coins dropping out of our pockets at the brakes and gears grated with the grime. Gareth’s bike was now less dazzling, partly because it was covered in mud and partly due to all the cack on our glasses.

Returning to Reigate Hill, we achieved an excellent average speed considering the dire conditions. Sliding down the hill I just had enough time to clean the bike and myself before the wife came home.

Richard Sterry

Recent Reports

Sat 6 Feb
MTB Experienced 06/02- Reigate Hill
Sun 31 Jan
MTB-Enduro1 Christmas Blow Out, Bagshot
Sun 24 Jan
Sunday Steady 24-01-2016
Sat 23 Jan
MTB-Experienced Coldharbour 23/01
Sat 16 Jan
MTB-Intermediate Ranmore 16/16
Sat 9 Jan
MTB-Intermediate Epsom Downs 09/16
Sun 20 Dec
The 2015 MINCE PIE RUN
Sun 20 Dec
MTB Mince Pie Ride
Sat 28 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Rykas 28/11
Sat 21 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Ranmore Common 21/10
Sat 14 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Epsom Downs 14/11
Sat 7 Nov
Road Rides 07-11-15
Sat 31 Oct
Road Rides 31-10-15
Sat 31 Oct
Pedal In Preston Park 2015
Sat 24 Oct
Road Rides 24-10-15
Tue 20 Oct
Newcomers ride 10/10/15
Tue 20 Oct
Dungeness report 04/10/15
Sat 3 Oct
MTB-Intermediate Leigh 03/10
Sat 10 Oct
Mtb Experienced- Reigate Hill