Alex
Sunday, November 15, 2009 - 17:27
588

Stormy conditions did not prevent play today, just made it more exciting on the trails, and tested waterproofs to the limit.....

Good weather for ducks!
Driving through torrential rain and deep puddles on the M25 towards Shackleford was not giving me good feelings for this club ride. I had visions of setting a new club record for no riders, and completing the course alone. To my delight, 9 of the finest turned up to play on a flooded area around Hindhead.
Luckily I had planned on the weather being wet, and picked well drained, sandy areas avoiding most of the deep mud. My tactics paid off as most trails were rideable.
We all enjoyed the view point at the top of Kettlebury Hill, the strong wind almost taking your breath away.
The favourite trail had to be a long rocky gully descending from the tea stop at Devils Punch Bowl, transformed into a fast flowing river for the day. Half a mile further on the trail descends and crosses a river near Pitch Place, where riders can choose the bridge or to ride through the water. It was here we witnessed a mini tsunami heading straight towards us, a mixture of muddy water, logs and leaves. A result of the heavy rain we had just been riding through.
Many thanks to those who turned up and made the ride so much fun.
Those with webbed feet were Phil and Sally Smoker, Mike, Phil, Alex, Fran, Monika, Jack and Julian.

Recent Reports

Sat 27 Sep
Road Rides 27-09-14
Sun 28 Sep
Sunday Steady 28-09-2014
Sat 27 Sep
Road Rides 27-09-14
Sat 20 Sep
Road Rides 20-09-14
Sat 20 Sep
Road Rides 20-09-14
Sat 13 Sep
MTB Experienced - SDW 40
Sun 14 Sep
Sunday Steady 14-09-2014
Sat 13 Sep
MTB Experienced - Reigate Hill
Sat 13 Sep
Road Rides 13-09-14
Fri 5 Sep - Sun 7 Sep
Calais weekend
Sun 11 Sep
SCCU '25' (Club Championship)
Sat 6 Sep
Road Rides 06-09-14
Sat 6 Sep
MTB Experienced-Gomshall 06/09
Sat 30 Aug
Bealach Mor Challenge 2014
Sat 23 Aug
Road Rides 23-08-14
Sun 31 Aug
Redhill Rollercoaster Sportive 2014
Sun 31 Aug
Surrey League Sharpthorne 2/3 road race
Sat 30 Aug
MTB-Experienced Warlingham 30/08
Wed 20 Aug
RCC Club TT - Week 16