Alex
Sunday, November 15, 2009 - 17:27
913

Stormy conditions did not prevent play today, just made it more exciting on the trails, and tested waterproofs to the limit.....

Good weather for ducks!
Driving through torrential rain and deep puddles on the M25 towards Shackleford was not giving me good feelings for this club ride. I had visions of setting a new club record for no riders, and completing the course alone. To my delight, 9 of the finest turned up to play on a flooded area around Hindhead.
Luckily I had planned on the weather being wet, and picked well drained, sandy areas avoiding most of the deep mud. My tactics paid off as most trails were rideable.
We all enjoyed the view point at the top of Kettlebury Hill, the strong wind almost taking your breath away.
The favourite trail had to be a long rocky gully descending from the tea stop at Devils Punch Bowl, transformed into a fast flowing river for the day. Half a mile further on the trail descends and crosses a river near Pitch Place, where riders can choose the bridge or to ride through the water. It was here we witnessed a mini tsunami heading straight towards us, a mixture of muddy water, logs and leaves. A result of the heavy rain we had just been riding through.
Many thanks to those who turned up and made the ride so much fun.
Those with webbed feet were Phil and Sally Smoker, Mike, Phil, Alex, Fran, Monika, Jack and Julian.

Recent Reports

Sat 23 Jul
MTB- Intermediate Wotton Hatch 2307
Wed 6 Jul
RCC 2016 TT Series #10
Sat 2 Jul
Road Rides 02-07-16
Wed 6 Jul
RCC 2016 TT Series #10
Sat 4 Jul
Redhill CC Sporting 14 TT - GS/189
Sun 19 Jun
Sunday Steady 19-06-2016
Thu 9 Jun - Sun 12 Jun
MTB Lake District Weekend
Wed 15 Jun
RCC 2016 TT series #7
Wed 8 Jun
RCC 2016 Time Trial series #6
Wed 1 Jun
RCC 2016 TT series #5
Fri 20 May - Mon 23 May
Le Mans 72
Wed 25 May
RCC 2016 TT series #4
Mon 30 May
Bank Holiday Steady 30-05-2016
Sat 28 May
MTB-Experienced Holmbury St Mary 2805
Wed 18 May
RCC 2016 TT series #3
Sat 14 May
MTB- Experienced Gomshall 1405
Sun 17 Apr
BUCS 2016 Antur Stiniog
Wed 11 May
RCC 2016 TT series #2