Alex
Sunday, November 15, 2009 - 17:27
570

Stormy conditions did not prevent play today, just made it more exciting on the trails, and tested waterproofs to the limit.....

Good weather for ducks!
Driving through torrential rain and deep puddles on the M25 towards Shackleford was not giving me good feelings for this club ride. I had visions of setting a new club record for no riders, and completing the course alone. To my delight, 9 of the finest turned up to play on a flooded area around Hindhead.
Luckily I had planned on the weather being wet, and picked well drained, sandy areas avoiding most of the deep mud. My tactics paid off as most trails were rideable.
We all enjoyed the view point at the top of Kettlebury Hill, the strong wind almost taking your breath away.
The favourite trail had to be a long rocky gully descending from the tea stop at Devils Punch Bowl, transformed into a fast flowing river for the day. Half a mile further on the trail descends and crosses a river near Pitch Place, where riders can choose the bridge or to ride through the water. It was here we witnessed a mini tsunami heading straight towards us, a mixture of muddy water, logs and leaves. A result of the heavy rain we had just been riding through.
Many thanks to those who turned up and made the ride so much fun.
Those with webbed feet were Phil and Sally Smoker, Mike, Phil, Alex, Fran, Monika, Jack and Julian.

Recent Reports

Wed 20 Aug
RCC Club TT - Week 16
Sat 23 Aug
Grand Raid 2014
Sat 23 Aug
MTB Experienced-Woldingham
Sat 23 Aug
Road Rides 23-08-14
Sat 16 Aug
Road Rides 16-08-14
Wed 13 Aug
RCC Club TT - Week 15
Sun 10 Aug
London Ride 100, 2014
Wed 6 Aug
RCC Club TT - Week 14 (back to Horne, earlier start)
Sat 2 Aug
MTB Experienced-Warlingham
Sun 27 Jul
Redhill Sprint Triathlon
Wed 30 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 13
Sun 27 Jul
SCCU 100 - Redhill Club Championship 100
Wed 23 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 12
Fri 11 Jul - Wed 16 Jul
Dolomites - Is there anywhere better?
Sat 19 Jul
Road Rides 19-07-14
Wed 16 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 11
Sat 12 Jul
MTB Experienced - Reigate Hill
Sat 12 Jul
Stowe Triathlon
Sun 13 Jul
Reigate Rouleur Sportive