Alex
Sunday, November 15, 2009 - 17:27
869

Stormy conditions did not prevent play today, just made it more exciting on the trails, and tested waterproofs to the limit.....

Good weather for ducks!
Driving through torrential rain and deep puddles on the M25 towards Shackleford was not giving me good feelings for this club ride. I had visions of setting a new club record for no riders, and completing the course alone. To my delight, 9 of the finest turned up to play on a flooded area around Hindhead.
Luckily I had planned on the weather being wet, and picked well drained, sandy areas avoiding most of the deep mud. My tactics paid off as most trails were rideable.
We all enjoyed the view point at the top of Kettlebury Hill, the strong wind almost taking your breath away.
The favourite trail had to be a long rocky gully descending from the tea stop at Devils Punch Bowl, transformed into a fast flowing river for the day. Half a mile further on the trail descends and crosses a river near Pitch Place, where riders can choose the bridge or to ride through the water. It was here we witnessed a mini tsunami heading straight towards us, a mixture of muddy water, logs and leaves. A result of the heavy rain we had just been riding through.
Many thanks to those who turned up and made the ride so much fun.
Those with webbed feet were Phil and Sally Smoker, Mike, Phil, Alex, Fran, Monika, Jack and Julian.

Recent Reports

Wed 20 Apr - Wed 27 Apr
Mallorca 2016
Sat 2 Apr
Road Rides 02-04-16
Sat 26 Mar
MTB-Experienced Holmbury St Mary 2603
Sat 19 Mar
MTB-Intermediate Reigate Hill 19/03
Sun 20 Mar
Sunday Steady 20-03-2016
Sun 28 Feb
Sunday Steady 28-02-2016
Sat 27 Feb
Road Rides 27-02-16
Sun 21 Feb
Sunday Steady 21-02-2016
Sat 20 Feb
Road Rides 20-02-16
Sat 6 Feb
MTB-Intermediate Bletchingly 06/02
Sat 6 Feb
MTB Experienced 06/02- Reigate Hill
Sun 31 Jan
MTB-Enduro1 Christmas Blow Out, Bagshot
Sun 24 Jan
Sunday Steady 24-01-2016
Sat 23 Jan
MTB-Experienced Coldharbour 23/01
Sat 16 Jan
MTB-Intermediate Ranmore 16/16
Sat 9 Jan
MTB-Intermediate Epsom Downs 09/16
Sun 20 Dec
The 2015 MINCE PIE RUN
Sun 20 Dec
MTB Mince Pie Ride
Sat 28 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Rykas 28/11
Sat 21 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Ranmore Common 21/10