rsterry's picture
rsterry
Saturday, November 29, 2008 - 18:14
993

It was dark at 7am as I rode up Reigate Hill to find it covered in fog. The car park was busy with cyclists as another 2 groups were preparing for their own adventures. Dave, Brian, John, Keith & I (Richard) set off across the ridge and the golf course to Headley. A fair pace was set, no one complained, so we maintained our speed. The fog was really thick as we climbed up to Ranmore with visibility down to just 100m. It was also very cold. Jon joined us at Ranmore where we continued on our way to Newlands Corner. Avoiding the really muddy bits, we got into a rhythm that was only hampered by the sudden arrival of deep mud or puddles. On reaching Newlands corner we had covered the 18 miles with an impressive 11mph average speed.

There was time for a quick cup of tea, and bacon butties for those that need the boost, before we embarked on Lee’s ride.

At Peaslake, a larger group split from Lee’s ride to get back to Reigate. Elegantly lead by Fran, we made it back by 2pm having covering 46 miles in total.

It was wet, very cold, extremely muddy and a chance for us to do what we love doing – being on our bikes!

Richard Sterry

Recent Reports

Sun 16 Nov
Sunday Steady 16-11-2014
Sat 8 Nov
MTB-Downhill Day at Rogate/Stoughton
Sat 1 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Warlingham 01/11
Sun 19 Oct
Redmon GP des Gentlemen 19-10-14
Sat 25 Oct
MTB-Intermediate Milton Heath 25/10
Sat 18 Oct
MTB-intermediate Reigate Hill 18/10
Wed 1 Oct
Marseille to Reigate
Sat 11 Oct
Road Rides 11-10-14
Sun 5 Oct
Cycling Nuts
Sun 21 Sep
Crawley Late Summer Triathlon
Sun 5 Oct
Denbies Duels
Sun 28 Sep
Hever Castle Half Iron distance Triathlon
Sun 28 Sep
Hever Castle Sprint Triathlon Sept 2014
Sat 4 Oct
MTB-Experienced Kenley 04/10
Sat 27 Sep
MTB-Experienced Holmwood 27/09
Sat 27 Sep
Road Rides 27-09-14
Sun 28 Sep
Sunday Steady 28-09-2014
Sat 27 Sep
Road Rides 27-09-14
Sat 20 Sep
Road Rides 20-09-14
Sat 20 Sep
Road Rides 20-09-14