rsterry's picture
rsterry
Saturday, November 29, 2008 - 18:14
1,178

It was dark at 7am as I rode up Reigate Hill to find it covered in fog. The car park was busy with cyclists as another 2 groups were preparing for their own adventures. Dave, Brian, John, Keith & I (Richard) set off across the ridge and the golf course to Headley. A fair pace was set, no one complained, so we maintained our speed. The fog was really thick as we climbed up to Ranmore with visibility down to just 100m. It was also very cold. Jon joined us at Ranmore where we continued on our way to Newlands Corner. Avoiding the really muddy bits, we got into a rhythm that was only hampered by the sudden arrival of deep mud or puddles. On reaching Newlands corner we had covered the 18 miles with an impressive 11mph average speed.

There was time for a quick cup of tea, and bacon butties for those that need the boost, before we embarked on Lee’s ride.

At Peaslake, a larger group split from Lee’s ride to get back to Reigate. Elegantly lead by Fran, we made it back by 2pm having covering 46 miles in total.

It was wet, very cold, extremely muddy and a chance for us to do what we love doing – being on our bikes!

Richard Sterry

Recent Reports

Wed 22 Jul
Club TT - Week 11
Sat 18 Jul
Shaftesbury CC Time Trial
Sat 18 Jul
Road Rides 18-07-15
Sun 12 Jul
Reigate Rouleur Sportive 2015
Sat 11 Jul
Salzkammergut Trophy
Sat 11 Jul
Road Rides 11-07-15
Sun 5 Jul
Sunday Steady 05-07-2015
Sat 5 Jul
Redhill CC Sporting 14 TT - GS/189
Sat 4 Jul
MTB-Experienced Reigate Hill 04/07
Sat 4 Jul
Road Rides 04-07-15
Fri 26 Jun - Sun 28 Jun
RCC Paris Raid
Sat 27 Jun
Road Rides 27-06-15
Sat 15 Feb
MTB Intermediate-Bletchingley
Sat 27 Jun
Road Rides 27-06-15
Sat 20 Jun
South Downs Way 2015
Sat 20 Jun
Road Rides 20-06-15
Sat 20 Jun
MTB Experienced 200615- Reigate Hill
Sun 21 Jun
Hedley's Longest Day Kent Extravaganza
Wed 17 Jun
Club TT - Week 7
Sat 20 Jun
MTB Intermediate Reigate Hill 20/06