rsterry's picture
rsterry
Saturday, November 29, 2008 - 17:14
1,336

It was dark at 7am as I rode up Reigate Hill to find it covered in fog. The car park was busy with cyclists as another 2 groups were preparing for their own adventures. Dave, Brian, John, Keith & I (Richard) set off across the ridge and the golf course to Headley. A fair pace was set, no one complained, so we maintained our speed. The fog was really thick as we climbed up to Ranmore with visibility down to just 100m. It was also very cold. Jon joined us at Ranmore where we continued on our way to Newlands Corner. Avoiding the really muddy bits, we got into a rhythm that was only hampered by the sudden arrival of deep mud or puddles. On reaching Newlands corner we had covered the 18 miles with an impressive 11mph average speed.

There was time for a quick cup of tea, and bacon butties for those that need the boost, before we embarked on Lee’s ride.

At Peaslake, a larger group split from Lee’s ride to get back to Reigate. Elegantly lead by Fran, we made it back by 2pm having covering 46 miles in total.

It was wet, very cold, extremely muddy and a chance for us to do what we love doing – being on our bikes!

Richard Sterry

Recent Reports

Sat 6 Feb
MTB-Intermediate Bletchingly 06/02
Sat 6 Feb
MTB Experienced 06/02- Reigate Hill
Sun 31 Jan
MTB-Enduro1 Christmas Blow Out, Bagshot
Sun 24 Jan
Sunday Steady 24-01-2016
Sat 23 Jan
MTB-Experienced Coldharbour 23/01
Sat 16 Jan
MTB-Intermediate Ranmore 16/16
Sat 9 Jan
MTB-Intermediate Epsom Downs 09/16
Sun 20 Dec
The 2015 MINCE PIE RUN
Sun 20 Dec
MTB Mince Pie Ride
Sat 28 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Rykas 28/11
Sat 21 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Ranmore Common 21/10
Sat 14 Nov
MTB-Intermediate Epsom Downs 14/11
Sat 7 Nov
Road Rides 07-11-15
Sat 31 Oct
Road Rides 31-10-15
Sat 31 Oct
Pedal In Preston Park 2015
Sat 24 Oct
Road Rides 24-10-15
Tue 20 Oct
Newcomers ride 10/10/15
Tue 20 Oct
Dungeness report 04/10/15
Sat 3 Oct
MTB-Intermediate Leigh 03/10