rsterry's picture
rsterry
Saturday, November 29, 2008 - 18:14
1,161

It was dark at 7am as I rode up Reigate Hill to find it covered in fog. The car park was busy with cyclists as another 2 groups were preparing for their own adventures. Dave, Brian, John, Keith & I (Richard) set off across the ridge and the golf course to Headley. A fair pace was set, no one complained, so we maintained our speed. The fog was really thick as we climbed up to Ranmore with visibility down to just 100m. It was also very cold. Jon joined us at Ranmore where we continued on our way to Newlands Corner. Avoiding the really muddy bits, we got into a rhythm that was only hampered by the sudden arrival of deep mud or puddles. On reaching Newlands corner we had covered the 18 miles with an impressive 11mph average speed.

There was time for a quick cup of tea, and bacon butties for those that need the boost, before we embarked on Lee’s ride.

At Peaslake, a larger group split from Lee’s ride to get back to Reigate. Elegantly lead by Fran, we made it back by 2pm having covering 46 miles in total.

It was wet, very cold, extremely muddy and a chance for us to do what we love doing – being on our bikes!

Richard Sterry

Recent Reports

Fri 26 Jun - Sun 28 Jun
RCC Paris Raid
Sat 27 Jun
Road Rides 27-06-15
Sat 15 Feb
MTB Intermediate-Bletchingley
Sat 27 Jun
Road Rides 27-06-15
Sat 20 Jun
South Downs Way 2015
Sat 20 Jun
Road Rides 20-06-15
Sat 20 Jun
MTB Experienced 200615- Reigate Hill
Sun 21 Jun
Hedley's Longest Day Kent Extravaganza
Wed 17 Jun
Club TT - Week 7
Sat 20 Jun
MTB Intermediate Reigate Hill 20/06
Sat 13 Jun
Road Rides 13-06-15
Sat 13 Jun
MTB-Experienced Coldharbour 13/06
Sun 7 Jun
Sunday Steady 07-06-2015
Wed 3 Jun
Club TT - Week 5 (Change to Horne 10 course)
Sat 30 May
Road Rides 30-05-15
Wed 27 May
Club TT - Week 4
Mon 25 May
Bank Holiday Steady 25-05-2015
Sat 23 May
MTB-Intermediate Reigate Hill 23/05
Wed 21 May
RCC Club TT - Week 3