Off road ride to Leith Hill
admin's picture
admin
Thursday, May 22, 2008 - 20:30
433

Reigate to Leigh

This morning’s early ride started from Reigate Heath (not Reigate Hill – Alan!). Instead of taking a direct 1½ mile route to Leigh, we went across the Heath to Betchworth. After a comment implying that we were going somewhat slow, the pace was hotted up for the road section to Leigh. Last week there were complaints that I was going too fast!

Eight of us enjoyed a good 5 mile warm up, ready for Garry’s ride to Leith Hill.

Richard Sterry I was encouraged when 25 riders greeted me at the start point for the ride to Leigh Hill, always a good start.

Setting off we head towards Holmwood common the tails being relatively dry to start with and nothing to difficult. This changed at the bottom of the common as the forestry commission had been clearing various fallen trees and basically destroyed the trail all the way to the top with heavy machinery. Deep trenches made the going really tough but no one seemed to moan (apart from Richard) as we crossed the A24 ready to attack Redlands Wood and the gradual climb to the tower for a stop.

Tea stop at the tower was cold and very windy with lashings of hot tea. The ride back took us through Hammonds Copse to complete my loop of 20 miles.

Cracking weather for what seems to be a popular start point and ride.

Garry

Leigh to Leith Hill

Recent Reports

Wed 22 Jul
Club TT - Week 11
Sat 18 Jul
Shaftesbury CC Time Trial
Sat 18 Jul
Road Rides 18-07-15
Sun 12 Jul
Reigate Rouleur Sportive 2015
Sat 11 Jul
Salzkammergut Trophy
Sat 11 Jul
Road Rides 11-07-15
Sun 5 Jul
Sunday Steady 05-07-2015
Sat 5 Jul
Redhill CC Sporting 14 TT - GS/189
Sat 4 Jul
MTB-Experienced Reigate Hill 04/07
Sat 4 Jul
Road Rides 04-07-15
Fri 26 Jun - Sun 28 Jun
RCC Paris Raid
Sat 27 Jun
Road Rides 27-06-15
Sat 15 Feb
MTB Intermediate-Bletchingley
Sat 27 Jun
Road Rides 27-06-15
Sat 20 Jun
South Downs Way 2015
Sat 20 Jun
Road Rides 20-06-15
Sat 20 Jun
MTB Experienced 200615- Reigate Hill
Sun 21 Jun
Hedley's Longest Day Kent Extravaganza
Wed 17 Jun
Club TT - Week 7
Sat 20 Jun
MTB Intermediate Reigate Hill 20/06