Off road ride to Leith Hill
rccadmin's picture
rccadmin
Thursday, May 22, 2008 - 20:30
621

Reigate to Leigh

This morning’s early ride started from Reigate Heath (not Reigate Hill – Alan!). Instead of taking a direct 1½ mile route to Leigh, we went across the Heath to Betchworth. After a comment implying that we were going somewhat slow, the pace was hotted up for the road section to Leigh. Last week there were complaints that I was going too fast!

Eight of us enjoyed a good 5 mile warm up, ready for Garry’s ride to Leith Hill.

Richard Sterry I was encouraged when 25 riders greeted me at the start point for the ride to Leigh Hill, always a good start.

Setting off we head towards Holmwood common the tails being relatively dry to start with and nothing to difficult. This changed at the bottom of the common as the forestry commission had been clearing various fallen trees and basically destroyed the trail all the way to the top with heavy machinery. Deep trenches made the going really tough but no one seemed to moan (apart from Richard) as we crossed the A24 ready to attack Redlands Wood and the gradual climb to the tower for a stop.

Tea stop at the tower was cold and very windy with lashings of hot tea. The ride back took us through Hammonds Copse to complete my loop of 20 miles.

Cracking weather for what seems to be a popular start point and ride.

Garry

Leigh to Leith Hill

Recent Reports

Wed 18 May
RCC 2016 TT series #3
Sat 14 May
MTB- Experienced Gomshall 1405
Sun 17 Apr
BUCS 2016 Antur Stiniog
Wed 11 May
RCC 2016 TT series #2
Sat 30 Apr
Road Rides 30-04-16
Wed 20 Apr - Wed 27 Apr
Mallorca 2016
Sat 2 Apr
Road Rides 02-04-16
Sat 26 Mar
MTB-Experienced Holmbury St Mary 2603
Sat 19 Mar
MTB-Intermediate Reigate Hill 19/03
Sun 20 Mar
Sunday Steady 20-03-2016
Sun 28 Feb
Sunday Steady 28-02-2016
Sat 27 Feb
Road Rides 27-02-16
Sun 21 Feb
Sunday Steady 21-02-2016
Sat 20 Feb
Road Rides 20-02-16
Sat 6 Feb
MTB-Intermediate Bletchingly 06/02
Sat 6 Feb
MTB Experienced 06/02- Reigate Hill
Sun 31 Jan
MTB-Enduro1 Christmas Blow Out, Bagshot
Sun 24 Jan
Sunday Steady 24-01-2016
Sat 23 Jan
MTB-Experienced Coldharbour 23/01