Off road ride to Leith Hill
admin's picture
admin
Thursday, May 22, 2008 - 20:30
299

Reigate to Leigh

This morning’s early ride started from Reigate Heath (not Reigate Hill – Alan!). Instead of taking a direct 1½ mile route to Leigh, we went across the Heath to Betchworth. After a comment implying that we were going somewhat slow, the pace was hotted up for the road section to Leigh. Last week there were complaints that I was going too fast!

Eight of us enjoyed a good 5 mile warm up, ready for Garry’s ride to Leith Hill.

Richard Sterry I was encouraged when 25 riders greeted me at the start point for the ride to Leigh Hill, always a good start.

Setting off we head towards Holmwood common the tails being relatively dry to start with and nothing to difficult. This changed at the bottom of the common as the forestry commission had been clearing various fallen trees and basically destroyed the trail all the way to the top with heavy machinery. Deep trenches made the going really tough but no one seemed to moan (apart from Richard) as we crossed the A24 ready to attack Redlands Wood and the gradual climb to the tower for a stop.

Tea stop at the tower was cold and very windy with lashings of hot tea. The ride back took us through Hammonds Copse to complete my loop of 20 miles.

Cracking weather for what seems to be a popular start point and ride.

Garry

Leigh to Leith Hill

Recent Reports

Sat 23 Aug
Grand Raid
Sat 23 Aug
MTB Experienced-Woldingham
Sat 23 Aug
Road Rides 23-08-14
Sat 16 Aug
Road Rides 16-08-14
Wed 13 Aug
RCC Club TT - Week 15
Sun 10 Aug
London Ride 100, 2014
Wed 6 Aug
RCC Club TT - Week 14 (back to Horne, earlier start)
Sat 2 Aug
MTB Experienced-Warlingham
Sun 27 Jul
Redhill Sprint Triathlon
Wed 30 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 13
Sun 27 Jul
SCCU 100 - Redhill Club Championship 100
Wed 23 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 12
Fri 11 Jul - Wed 16 Jul
Dolomites - Is there anywhere better?
Sat 19 Jul
Road Rides 19-07-14
Wed 16 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 11
Sat 12 Jul
MTB Experienced - Reigate Hill
Sat 12 Jul
Stowe Triathlon
Sun 13 Jul
Reigate Rouleur Sportive
Sun 13 Jul
Surrey League Cat 2/3 road race
Sat 12 Jul
Road Rides 12-07-14