MTB - RCC Organised >> Leigh to Leith Hill
Off road ride to Leith Hill
admin's picture
admin
Thursday, May 22, 2008 - 19:30
0
291
Tough at the top

Reigate to Leigh

This morning’s early ride started from Reigate Heath (not Reigate Hill – Alan!). Instead of taking a direct 1½ mile route to Leigh, we went across the Heath to Betchworth. After a comment implying that we were going somewhat slow, the pace was hotted up for the road section to Leigh. Last week there were complaints that I was going too fast!

Eight of us enjoyed a good 5 mile warm up, ready for Garry’s ride to Leith Hill.

Richard Sterry I was encouraged when 25 riders greeted me at the start point for the ride to Leigh Hill, always a good start.

Setting off we head towards Holmwood common the tails being relatively dry to start with and nothing to difficult. This changed at the bottom of the common as the forestry commission had been clearing various fallen trees and basically destroyed the trail all the way to the top with heavy machinery. Deep trenches made the going really tough but no one seemed to moan (apart from Richard) as we crossed the A24 ready to attack Redlands Wood and the gradual climb to the tower for a stop.

Tea stop at the tower was cold and very windy with lashings of hot tea. The ride back took us through Hammonds Copse to complete my loop of 20 miles.

Cracking weather for what seems to be a popular start point and ride.

Garry

Leigh to Leith Hill

Recent Reports

Road Rides 19-07-14
Sat 19 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 11
Wed 16 Jul
MTB Experienced - Reigate Hill
Sat 12 Jul
Reigate Rouleur Sportive
Sun 13 Jul
Surrey League Cat 2/3 road race
Sun 13 Jul
Road Rides 12-07-14
Sat 12 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 10
Wed 9 Jul
Tour of Sussex - 3 days
Fri 4 Jul - Sun 6 Jul
RCC Club TT - Week 9
Wed 2 Jul
MTB Experienced-Kenley
Sat 5 Jul